John & Lynda



Label: EMI One Up 2050

Release Date: October 1974

Running Time:  60 minutes

The group's first ever live album saw them return to their spiritual home,  The Broadoak Hotel in Ashton Under Lyne which resulted in one of their most popular ever albums.  The recording captures the real Fivepenny,  the humour and the superb musicianship in a live setting.  The comic rhyming song '1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10' would continue to feature in their repertoire and John's version of  the nostalgic 'Brown Photographs' similarly became a Fivepenny classic.  Eddie was in top form with his monologues about 'The Battle Of Hastings' and 'The Hencote'.  Tim Hardin's 'If I Were A Carpenter' is beautifully performed by Lynda and John, the varied play list forming what many consider to be the quintessential Fivepenny Piece album.

Produced by BOB BARRATT

Cassette  TC-EXE 120

N.B. According to the inlay card 'Lancashire Lyne' and 'If I Were A Carpenter' have changed places
in the running order, but this might just be a printing mistake.

Side 1

  1. Ee By Gum (Play-On) (Meeks / Radcliffe / Crotty)
  2. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (J. Meeks / C. Radcliffe / E. Crotty / L. Meeks / G. Radcliffe)
  3. If I Were A Carpenter (Tim Hardin)
  4. The Lancashire Lyne (Meeks / Radcliffe)
  5. Brown Photographs (Meeks / Radcliffe)
  6. The Battle Of Hastings, 1066 (arr. Meeks / Radcliffe)
  7. Cum To Your Tea (Cook / Meeks)
  8. Dieting (Meeks / Radcliffe)

Side 2

  1. The Hencote (Crotty)
  2. Keep Yer ‘And On Yer ‘Alfpenny (Alex Glasgow)
  3. Tell Us It Ain’t So (Meeks / Radcliffe)
  4. Straightforward Lancashire Lad (Meeks / Radcliffe)
  5. Sandstone Castle (Meeks / Radcliffe)
  6. My Brudda Sylvest (Fisher / Lasky / Stern)
  7. Down At Our School (traditional arr. J. Meeks / C. Radcliffe / E. Crotty / L. Meeks / G. Radcliffe)
  8. Royton Sands (traditional arr. J. Meeks / C. Radcliffe / E. Crotty / L. Meeks / G. Radcliffe)
  9. Sing No More For You My Friends (Meeks / Radcliffe)

The album was re-released on CD by Wednesday Music in November 2011 (Catalogue number JMSLJ11)

Website designed by Rob Cope  © 2021