John & Lynda



Label: Sound Waves (SOW 525)

Release Date: 1996

Line-up: Eddie Crotty, George Radcliffe, Andrea Mullins, Pete Brew, Bernard Wrigley

Running Time:  56 minutes

57 Fivepenny Favourites is a marked departure from the band’s classic albums. The album is a series of medleys of cover songs made famous by other artists, including The Seekers, Peter Paul & Mary and Bob Dylan together with various folk and skiffle songs – the idea seemed to be an album with which listeners could sing along.  Although the cover says this is 'Volume Two' there never was a Volume One!   The plan had been to re-record Fivepenny Piece favourites of the past but this plan was dropped (according to Bernard Wrigley) when it was discovered EMI would be re-issuing the originals on CD.

Track Listing

  1. A World Of Our Own / Blowin’ In The Wind / I’ll Never Find Another You / The Last Thing On
    My Mind / We Shall Not Be Moved

    2. This Land Is Your Land / Island Of Dreams / Puff The Magic Dragon / Morningtown Ride / Georgy Girl
    3. Country Roads / Don’t Think Twice / Gentle On My Mind / If I Had A Hammer / Lord Of The Dance
    4. Freight Train / Go Tell It On The Mountain / Oh Susanna / Midnight Special / My Old Man’s A Dustman
    5. Pick A Bale Of Cotton / Skip To My Lou / The Blue Tail Fly / Big Rock Candy Mountain / Jambalaya / Down By The Riverside
    6. The Carnival Is Over / Durham Town / Swing Low Sweet Chariot / All My Trials / The Last Farewell
    7. Sloop John B / Four Strong Winds / I Know Where I’m Going / 500 Miles / Where Have All The Flowers Gone? / Mr Tambourine Man
    8. Jamaica Farewell / Kumbaya / Island In The Sun / Yellow Bird / Long Time Boy
    9. Have A Drink On Me / Cotton Fields / Early Morning Rain / Lemon Tree / San Fransisco Bay Blues
    10. Michael Row The Boat Ashore / Little Bitty Tear / Feeling Groovy / Leaving On A Jet Plane /Tom Dooley
    11. The Times They Are A Changing / Sweet Baby James / Liverpool Lou / Catch The Wind / So Long It’s Been Good To Know You

Website designed by Rob Cope  © 2021